Thirty Days of Thankfulness

For the last five or six years, I have written a daily ‘thankful for’ post on Facebook. When I first started doing this, very few people did it so it was kinda new and different. Now a lot of  people do it, and I’ve seen more and more each year.

This is a good thing – gratitude opens the heart to possibility and closes it to negativity.  But I like to do things a little differently.

Instead of turning to Facebook this year, I am going to attempt a blog post each day of November as part of a writing challenge. November is National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo), but the novel I have in my head has resisted every attempt to write it.  For fun, I might put a couple of chapters or bits on the blog and see where they go – but my challenge to myself this month is just to write here every day. Even a couple of paragraphs.

Not every post will be one of gratitude, but each post will have a “Today I’m thankful for” sentence at the end of it. Not every topic I have in mind is one that fills me with gratitude, honestly. For example, I have a topic in mind about the bare minimum that freedom “costs” and what the Army does to change these young men and women. Not particularly grateful about that one; I’m sure you understand.

Today I am thankful for open doors and calm breezes, the laughter of children, and the ability to hear the neighborhood as the sun gently sets.

20151027_162307

I promise there won’t be cat photos all month.

Leave a Reply

