Thinking Thursday: What Would You Like to Talk About?

There is so much going on in the world that we don’t talk about in polite company.  There is a whole list of things, in fact, that sometimes reads like George Carlin’s famous list of curse words he’d get censored for saying.

Guns.

Sex.

Money.

Religion.

Politics.

And yet, at the root of it, there is much that we need to talk about, as people and as a country, in a more civilized and actually listening way than we ever have before.

Guns.

Sex.

Money.

Religion.

Politics.

Emotions are high about these subjects, because we all have our preconceived notions that surround them. Certain words pop up and our ears just close until we are shrouded in a sea of silence – a sea we have created ourselves.  We put up protective barriers around ourselves so we don’t hear things that make us uncomfortable, or we refuse opportunities to discuss important things in fear that we might disappoint people who love us by feeling a different way than they do.

Both of these things, refusing to listen and being unable to talk, mean that we miss out.

Both of these mean that things do not change, and when they do change, no one is happy about it.

So my question for you this thinking Thursday is,

What do you wish you could talk about?

What topics make you the most passionate…or the most afraid?

Which topics bring you joy?  Or offer a sadness that desperately needs the reprieve of sharing?

I hope you’ll share with me.  I hope we can be brave together.

I have much on my mind, as well, and in the next few days I have some words to say about the topics I listed above.  I’ve talked about religion before, so that has become rather easy for me.  But other topics are still so verboten that only the most stalwart (or angry) seem to be able to write about them.  I don’t want to close people off when I write, so my passion (anger, sadness, joy, regret) will need to be carefully explained.  But still I will write.

Even about the topics that scare us.

Even about the topics that worry us.

Even about the topics that divide us, because we do not listen.  Or care.  Or both.

Will you join me?

Walk with me a ways.

Walk with me a ways.

One thought on “Thinking Thursday: What Would You Like to Talk About?

  1. I definitely am trying to talk about my faith more. It’s so much easier (and less divisive) not to bring it up, but life isn’t always about avoid divisive topics, as you so aptly pointed out in your post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

